Ice and Longboats: Ancient Music of Scandinavia

Volume 2 of EMAP's series of 5 CD recordings, Ice and Longboats, is now on sale, through record shops, at the EMAP exhibition and through online sources such as Spotify, Amazon and iTunes. It features Ensemble Mare Balticum, a Swedish Early Music group, as well as Åke Egevad and Jens Egevad. The CD, and the series, is a collaboration between the University of Huddersfield, Delphian Records and EMAP, with funding support coming from all three. Rupert Till came up with the idea, and he and Paul Baxter of Delphian Records have been instrumental in creating the CDs.

You can hear a review from BBC Radio 3 about the CD here:



The second CD focuses on music from Scandinavia, played on a range of instruments, and Cajsa Lund provided musical impetus for the project.

  • ake-egevad-photograph-jens-egevad
  • emb
  • ensemble-mare-balticum
  • ice-and-longboats-3
  • ice-and-longboats-recording-4
  • jens-and-ake-egevad
  • jens-and-ake


Watch the video:


  • ice-and-longboats-recording-1
  • ice-and-longboats-recording-2
  • ice-and-longboats-recording-rupert-and-paul
  • ice-and-longboats-recording-rupert
  • ice-and-longboats-recording-ute-and-paul-2
  • ice-and-longboats-recording-ute-and-paul


Buy it on Amazon or iTunes

© 2015 EMAP - European Music Archaeology Project

Comune di Tarquinia, Assessorato alla Cultura - Piazza Giacomo Matteotti, 6 - 01016 Tarquinia (VT) - by Studio ARCHITUTTO DESIGNER'S - Italy

By clicking "Yes", you agree to the use of cookies. You can change this and find out more by following this link.